Afghanistan announce Test, T20I squads for BD tour

Afghanistan announce Test, T20I squads for BD tour

KABUL (Agencies): The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) on Tuesday announced squads for next month’s only Test against Bangladesh and the T20I tri-series involving Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe, with leg-spinner Rashid Khan as the captain of both formats.

While the Test will be played from September 5 to 9, the tri-series is scheduled to get underway on September 13 and go on until September 24. Mohammad Shahzad is not the part of any squad as he was suspended for 12 months after breaching ACB’s code of conduct during the World Cup.

Moreover, the selectors didn’t have a good time picking the squad for the tour as only seven players passed the yo-yo fitness test according to reports in ESPNCricinfo.

Shapoor Zadran has made it to the Test team while Mujeeb Ur Rahman has been left out. Ikram Ali Khil has replaced Shahzad in the whites and Rahmanullah Gurbaz has been picked to do the job behind the stumps in the T20Is. The selectors have picked some format specialists as well who are not the part of both the squads. Only Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi and Asghar Afghan are the part of both Test and T20I squads.

Afghanistan Test squad: Rashid Khan (C), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Ihsanullah Janat, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ikram Ali Khil, Zahir Khan, Javed Ahmadi, Sayed Shirzad, Yameen Ahmadzai, Afsar Zazai, Shapoor Zadran, Qais Ahmad.

Afghanistan T20I squad: Rashid Khan (C), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Najeeb Tarakai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najibullah Zadran, Shahidullah Kamal, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Farid Ahmad Malik, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Fazal Niazai, Dawlat Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

Posted in ,