Tennis C

Aqeel, Muzammil in Tennis final

ISLAMABAD (APP): Aqeel Khan and Muzammil Murtaza moved in the men’s singles final of the 5th Begum Kulsum Saifullah Khan National Ranking Tennis Tournament here at PTF Complex on Saturday.

A total number of 17 matches were played on the 5th day in all the categories. In the first Men’s singles semi-final, 2nd seed Muzammil Murtaza brought an end to teenager Muhammad Shoaib’s winning spree in an exciting and closely fought match, 6-4, 6-3. In the 2nd semi-final, top seeded Aqeel Khan survived a scare from 4th seed Muhammad Abid in a nail biting 3 set match, winning 3-6, 6-4, 6-4.

In the women’s finals, unseeded Mahin Aftab defeated 2nd seeded Sarah Mahboob Khan in a see-saw match with fluctuating fortunes. Mahin lead 4-1 in the first set, but Sarah fought back to win the set 7-6(4). Mahin then bounced back to take the next two sets 6-4, 6-4 and with it the title.

Men’s Singles (Semi Finals): Muzammil Murtaza beat M. Shoaib 6-4, 6-3; Aqeel Khan beat M. Abid: 3-6, 6-4, 6-4. Men’s Doubles (Semi Finals): M. Abid, Waqas Malik beat Mudassir Murtaza, M.Shoaib 6-3, 3-6, 10-6; Aqeel Khan, Muzammil Murtaza beat Ahmed Chudhary, Barkatullah 6-2, 6-4.

Ladies Singles (Final): Mahin Aftab beat Sarah Mahboob Khan 6-7(4), 6-4, 6-4.

Boys 18& under (Semi Finals): M. Shoaib beat Hamid Israr 6-2, 6-1; Subhan Salik beat Hashish Kumar: 6-4, 7-6(2).

Boy’s U-14 Singles (Semi Finals): Bilal Asim beat Yahya Musa Luni 4-0, 4-1; Haider Ali Rizwan beat Shahsawar Khan 2-4, 5-3, 4-1.

Boy’s U-14 Doubles (Semi Finals): M. Huzaifa, Hamid Israr beat Shahsawar, Yahya Musa 5-3, 4-2; Ahmed Bail, Bilal Asim beat Haider Ali Rizwan, Hussnain Ali Rizwan 5-3, 4-2.

Boy’s/Girl’s U-12 (Semi Finals): Hamza Roman beat Ehtisham Hamayun 4-2, 4-1; Hussnain Ali Rizwan beat Hamza Ali Rizwan: 4-0, 4-1.

Boy’s/Girl’s U-10 (Semi Finals): M.Hassan Usman beat Hammad Shah 4-1, 4-2; Hamza Ali Rizwan beat Razik Sultan 4-1, 4-1. Seniors 45 (Semi Finals): Rashid Malik (ZTBL), Hameed ul Haq beat Mubarak Shah, Col. Altif 6-2, 6-1; Israr Gul, Irfanullah beat Salman Haider, Altaf Hussain 6-2, 6-1.

Posted in