Asia Cup: Pakistan humiliated 4-0 against India

DHAKA (Agencies): India beat Pakistan 4-0 in the Super Four match at Dhaka’s Maulana Bhashani Hockey Stadium on Saturday.

Gurjant Singh goal in the 57th minute cemented India’s place in the Asia Cup final. Lalit Upadhyay gave India 3-0 lead after scoring a minute after Harmanpreet Singh. The first goal of the match was scored by Satbir Singh.

Pakistan will play in the third position match tomorrow (Sunday). The highly-awaited Super 4 face-off between arch-rivals Pakistan and India was delayed due to heavy rainfall on Saturday.

Earlier, the Hero Hockey Asia Cup match was delayed by 90 minutes. The game is crucial for Pakistan while India just needs to draw to cement its position in the final. The top two teams at the end of the second round will reach the final while the teams finishing third and fourth will vie for the bronze medal.

India is currently on the top of the table with four points from one win and a draw, followed by Malaysia which secured three points after their win against Pakistan. South Korea have two points, from their two draws, and Pakistan is at the bottom with one point from the draw against South Korea. In their last face-off, India won 3-1 against Pakistan. The goals were scored by India’s Harmanpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh and Ramandeep Singh, while Ali Shan scored for Pakistan.

Pakistan are three-time Asia Cup champions Pakistan while India have lifted the cup twice. It is interesting to note that Pakistan won all the first three editions of the cup in 1982, ’85 and ’89. While India’s victories were achieved in more recent times, in 2003 and 2007

In all of Pakistan’s three Asia Cup wins, India were the runners-up. In 1985 and ’89, Pakistan defeated their neighbours in the final. The inaugural 1982 competition was played on a single league basis.

There also the Green Shirts defeated India in the decisive last match. India’s first win, in 2003, came at Pakistan’s expense in the final and then again in both countries’ last pool match in 2017. In total, the traditional rivals have met seven times in the tournament.