Top Stories

Britain imposed sanctions against the vice president of Nicaragua and seven other officials

Written by The Frontier Post

LONDON (TASS): The UK government has imposed sanctions against Nicaraguan Vice President Rosario Murillo and seven other officials of the republic for human rights violations. This is stated in the updated sanctions list of the United Kingdom authorities on Monday.

The restrictive measures, implying a ban on entry and freezing of bank accounts, also included the Chairman of the National Assembly (Parliament) of Nicaragua Gustavo Porras Cortes, Secretary General of the Office of the Mayor of the capital of Managua Fidel Antonio Moreno Briones, Attorney General Ana Julia Guido Ochoa, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Alba Rus Ramosegas , Central Election Commissioner Lumberto Ignacio Campbell Hooker, Senior Police Commissioner Juan Antonio Valle and Chief of Police Department Leon Fidel de Jesús Dominguez Alvarez. Thus, there are now 14 people on the British sanctions list for Nicaragua.

On Monday, Spanish Foreign Minister Jose Manuel Albares said that EU member states will begin the process of imposing individual sanctions against some Nicaraguan citizens. The corresponding meeting of the EU countries is taking place against the background of the general elections held on November 7 in Nicaragua. Earlier, both Brussels and London criticized the election procedures in the Central American republic, saying that the last expression of will was not free.

On November 7, presidential and parliamentary elections were held in Nicaragua. The voting process was accompanied by over 200 observers, including those from Russia, Abkhazia, South Ossetia, the USA, Great Britain, Germany, Spain, France and Latin American countries. According to the results of the counting of more than 99% of the votes, the candidacy of the incumbent head of state Daniel Ortega in the presidential elections was supported by 75.87% of voters, and his party, the Sandinista National Liberation Front, won 75 out of 91 seats in the National Assembly.

About the author

The Frontier Post