Denmark Normalizes Its Travel Advice – COVID-19 Is No Longer the Main Factor

Written by The Frontier Post

Monitoring Desk

Since Friday, October 15, Denmark’s advice on travel abroad for Danish citizens will not be primarily based on the COVID-19 situation but rather on other security factors like war, terror, political unrest, natural disasters, risk of kidnapping and other risks.

The decision has been announced by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the same explains that travel guides will be issued for world countries categorized in colours based on security factors, which guides should be followed by all Danish travellers, regardless of their vaccination status.

From October 15, 2021, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ travel instructions will be normalized, corresponding to the time before the pandemic broke out, where it is the security risk for the traveller at the destination that determines the colour,” the Ministry notes in a press release.

Due to COVID-19, Denmark’s government had updated the travel guidelines according to the COVID-19 situation abroad. Since 88 per cent of the country’s adult population has been fully vaccinated by now, on October 12, Denmark decided to ease its travel restrictions.

Now, the travel guides will again be issued according to the colour with which a particular country is coloured – green, yellow, orange, and red.

When travelling in green countries, Danes are advised to use their common sense and pay attention in the same way as you would in Denmark, while in yellow countries, travellers should be more careful by paying extra attention to their safety.

On the other hand, in orange destinations, unnecessary trips are strongly discouraged. Necessary purposes of travel to orange countries urgent family visits and necessary errands such as participation in a funeral, birth or trial. – Advertisement –

The Danish MFA urges Danes to refrain from travelling to countries in the red category.

Currently, the MFA has travel guides for 76 countries, 21 of which either apply an entry ban on all travellers or impose strict entry restrictions for travellers from Denmark, which means holidays to these countries are not possible.

According to the Ministry, due to the current entry rules that the following countries have in place, travelling for leisure purposes is not possible:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • China
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Myanmar
  • Palestine
  • the Philippines
  • South Korea
  • Thailand (except Phuket)
  • the USA (until November 8)
  • Vietnam

In addition, unvaccinated Danish travellers cannot take a normal tourist holiday in, for example, Canada, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and the United Kingdom,” the Ministry adds.

At the same time, the MFA explains that ordinary Danish tourists cannot travel to Bolivia, Honduras, Jamaica, New Zealand, Nicaragua and Venezuela.

About the author

The Frontier Post

Leave a Reply