ECP accepted nomination papers of several political leaders


ISLAMABAD: Many political leaders nomination papers were accepted by the returning officers of the Election Commission of Pakistan to give final touch to the upcoming general election held on 25th July 2018 in the country.

The ECP has concluded scrutiny of the candidates of the election on Tuesday and those who were rejected by the RO they can filed their application on 22 June as the final decision will be announced by the ECP on 27 June 2018.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), party president and former Punjab chief minister Shehbaz Sharif’s nomination papers for NA-132 (Lahore), NA-249 (Karachi), NA-250 (Karachi) and NA-3 (Swat) were accepted by the RO.

Shehbaz’s son Hamza Shehbaz has been allowed to contest from NA-132, NA-124 and PP-146 constituencies of Lahore.

PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz’s candidacy for PP-173 has also been approved. On Monday, RO Asif Bashir had cleared the way for Maryam to contest for Lahore’s NA-125 constituency as well after dismissing all objections raised during scrutiny of her nomination papers.

Ayaz Sadiq, the former speaker of the National Assembly, was also cleared to contest the polls from Lahore’s NA-129 constituency.

Former minister of foreign affairs Khawaja Asif had his nomination forms accepted for NA-73 Sialkot.

Former interior minister Ahsan Iqbal has also been cleared to contest from his hometown constituency of NA-78 (Narowal) while PML-N KP leader Amir Muqam will contest the polls from for PK-4 (Swat).

Former Punjab law minister Rana Sanaullah’s candidacy for NA-106 (Faisalabad) was also approved today after he appeared before the RO once adequate security was provided at the sessions court.

In a setback, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi’s nomination papers for NA-53 (Islamabad) were dismissed as he failed to fill the affidavit properly.

PML-N candidate Khawaja Tariq Nazeer had his nomination forms accepted for NA-245 Karachi.

Prominent Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leaders whose nomination papers were accepted included chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, who was declared fit to contest from NA-246 (Karachi).

The nomination papers of former president Asif Ali Zardari for NA-213 (Nawabshah) have also been accepted, a day after two petitioners withdrew objections against his candidature.

PPP’s Aijaz Jakhrani had his nomination forms accepted for NA-196 Jacobabad.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan’s nomination papers for NA-131 (Lahore) and NA-243 (Karachi) were accepted after the RO dismissed the objections against his candidacy.

However, the PTI chief suffered a setback in NA-53, Islamabad where the RO rejected his candidacy as he failed to properly fill out the affidavit to be submitted along with the nomination papers.

Additionally, the nomination papers of PTI leader Aleem Khan and his wife, Kiran Aleem, were accepted for Lahore’s NA-131 and NA-129, and PP-148, respectively.

Nomination forms of PTI’s Mohammad Mian Soomro were accepted from NA-196 Jacobabad. Mohammad Aslam Abro also had his nomination papers approved from the same constituency.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) stalwart Farooq Sattar suffered a setback today after his nomination papers for NA-245 (Karachi) were rejected owing to inclusion of his name in two FIRs.

The nomination papers of Sattar and Nasreen Jalil were approved from NA-247 Karachi.

Meanwhile, nomination forms of social activist Jibran Nasir were also accepted, who will be contesting the election as an independent candidate from NA-247 Karachi.

Similarly, the nomination papers of Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) leader Arshad Vohra for NA-254 (Karachi) and NA-255 (Karachi) were also accepted. PSP’s Fauzia Kasuri also had her candidacy approved for NA-247 Karachi.

Other prominent political leaders whose nomination papers were accepted included Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman for NA-38 (Dera Ismail Khan), veteran politician Javed Hashmi for NA-155 (Multan), Qaumi Watan Party chairperson Aftab Sherpao for NA-23 (Charsadda).

Former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan’s nomination papers were accepted for NA-63 Taxila. Nisar, however, didn’t appear before the returning officer to submit his nomination forms.

PTI candidate Ghulam Sarwar Khan’s nomination forms were also accepted from the same constituency. Another candidate, Umar Farooq, had his nomination papers accepted for NA-63 Taxila.

Farooq had been a defaulter of Sui Northern. His nomination forms were approved after payment of dues.

Former PPP leader Zulfiqar Mirza, who recently joined the Grand Democratic Alliance, has been allowed to contest elections from PS-74 (Badin) while estranged PTI leader Ayesha Gulalai will contest the election from NA-231 (Sajawal).

A total of 21,482 nomination papers have been filed across the country for national and provincial assemblies, according to the electoral body.

At least 6,063 candidates will contest for the 342 seats of the National Assembly, while 15,419 hopefuls have filed nomination papers for the seats of the provincial assemblies.

The election schedule states that appeals against rejection or acceptance of nomination papers can be filed by June 22. The decision on the appeals will be made by June 27, after which the final list of the candidates will be shared on June 28.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature will be June 29.


Posted in