Nisar and Maryam

Elections 2018: Appellate tribunal rejects petitions against Nisar, Maryam’s candidature

F.P. Report

ISLAMABAD: Appellate tribunals’ on Saturday has rejected petitions against former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader of Maryam Nawaz’s candidature.

Chaudhry Nisar announced to contest election as an independent candidate, after his three-decade-long association with PML-N ended over ideological differences with the party’s leadership. He has filed his nomination papers for constituencies NA-63, NA-59, PP-10, and PP-12.

The petitioner had challenged Nisar’s nomination papers from NA-63 constituency. They had stated that the candidate was accused in the Supreme Court attack case.

The appellate tribunal dismissed the petition against Nisar’s candidature, stating that the petitioner was not a voter of NA-63.

Similarly, An appellate tribunal on Saturday dismissed a petition challenging Maryam Nawaz’s candidature for Punjab Assembly constituency PP-173.

Maryam Nawaz will be contesting the upcoming general election from National Assembly constituencies NA-125 and NA-127 in Lahore, and Punjab Assembly constituency PP-173.

Earlier, the petitioner had challenged Maryam’s nomination papers for PP-173, stating that the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader possessed two CNICs.

The appellate tribunal rejected the petition.

Posted in