Hamza Niaz clinches National Junior U-15 Squash Championship title

F.P. Report

PESHAWAR: International Hamza Niaz of PAF clinched the trophy after defeating Huzaifa Zahid, also from PAF in the final of the National Junior Under-15 Squash Championship played here at PAF Hashim Khan Squash Complex on Friday.

Member Provincial Assembly from Chitral Wazirzada was the chief guest on this occasion. Director General Sports Junaid Khan, former British Open Champion Qamar Zaman, Head Coach PAF Squash Academy Atlas Khan, Member Executive Committee Wazir Gul, officials, coaches and players were also present.

In the final Hamza Niaz marched into victory in straight sets, the score was 11-5, 11-8 and 11-7. Hamza Niaz fully dominated the proceedings and did not give much time to Huzaifa Zahid to strike back.

In the final of Under-11 Ibrahim Zeb of PAF defeated Abdullah Zaman of PAF by 3-1, the score was 8-11, 11-9, 11-6 and 11-7. Ibrahim Zeb played well and dominated the final against Abdullah Zaman. Ibrahim Zeb lost the first set but he managed his position and won three consecutive sets to take the final.

Earlier, in the semi-final Abdullah Zaman of PAF defeated Hamza Sajjad of KP by 3-1 in the first semi-final, the score was 11-8, 11-7, 9-11 and 11-9. Both Abdullah Zaman and Hamza Sajjad played well and gave each other a tough fight. In the second semi-final Ibrahim Zeb of PAF defeated Umair Arif of PAF by 11-6, 11-8 and 11-4.

In the Under-13 category Skhi Ullah of PAF defeated Abdullah Nawaz of PAF by 3-1, the score was 11-6, 7-11, 11-8 and 11-9. In the semi-finals Abdullah Nawaz (PAF) beat Fawad of KP by 3-0, the score was 11-3, 11-2, 11-7 while Sakhi Ullah of PAF beat Arsh by 3-0. In the Girls Under-15 Sana Bahadar defeated Maira Khan by 3-0, the score was 11-7, 11-9 and 11-8.

In the Girls Under-19 current national champion Komal Khan defeated Nimra Aqeel by 3-1, the score was 11-8, 7-11, 11-9 and 11-8. Komal Khan faced little resistance otherwise she fully dominated the proceedings. MPA Wazirzada from Chitral also announced Rs. 150,000 as cash prizes for all the five categories.

Posted in