Hashimi takes oath as new member of election panel

Monitoring Desk

KABUL: Syed Hafizullah Hashimi was sworn in as a new Independent Election Commission (IEC) member by Ashraf Ghani in Kabul on Tuesday morning.

Vice President Mohammad Sarwar Danish, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Dr Abdullah, Attorney General Mohammad Hamid Faridi, Supreme Court member Mohammad Zaman Sangari also attended the oath-taking ceremony.

In a statement from the Presidential Palace, Ghani wished the new IEC member in his job and stressed the need for the implementation of the law. “Your commitment is to the nation and this commitment should be honoured.”

Earlier, the selection committee had proposed the names of Hashimi, Abdul Qadir Zazai and Awal Rahman Rodwal to the president. Ghani eventually chose Hashimi for the job.