Imran Khan

Imran Khan takes oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

F.P. Report

ISLAMABAD: Imran Khan took the oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan on Saturday.

Earlier on yesterday, PTI Chief defeated Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz President Shehbaz Sharif in the PM election a day. The oath was administered by President Mamnoon Hussain. The oath-taking ceremony was held at the President House.

Army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Zubair Mahmood Hayat and Chief of Air Staff Marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan were among those who attended the ceremony.

Imran Khan’s wife Bushra Bibi, former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, Wasim Akram, actor Javed Sheikh, Punjab governor designate Chaudhry Sarwar, Punjab Assembly speaker Pervez Elahi, Ramiz Raja, caretaker prime minister Nasir-ul-Mulk and PTI leaders were also in attendance.

After the oath-taking ceremony, Imran was presented a guard of honour at Prime Minister House.

Earlier on Friday, the NA elected Imran as the prime minister of Pakistan, more than two decades after the former captain of the Pakistan cricket team entered politics.

Of the total NA members, 176 voted in favour of the PTI chairperson, while his opponent, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif, received 96 votes.

Posted in