Interior ministry places names of Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Miftah Ismail on ECL

F.P. Report

ISLAMABAD: The Interior Ministry has placed the names of former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Miftah Ismail on the Exit Control List, on Friday.

The private news channel quoted official of Interior ministry, that names of PML-N leaders were placed on the no-fly list on the recommendation of the National Accountability Bureau.

Imran-ul-Haq, Uzma Adil Khan, Mubeen Saulat, Shahid Islamuddin and Amir Naseem’s names were also placed on the ECL.

Abbasi is accused of illegally awarding a 15-year contract for a liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminal when he was the petroleum minister in former prime minister Nawaz Sharif’s cabinet. The case was closed by NAB in 2016 but was reopened in 2018.

Ismail is also under investigation in connection with the LNG corruption case.

The federal cabinet reportedly gave a go-ahead to place Abbasi, along with others, on the ECL in a meeting earlier this month.