Mohammad Rizwan declared ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year

Written by The Frontier Post

ISLAMABAD (NNI): The International Cricket Council (ICC) has declared Pakistani ace batsman and wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan as ICC’s Cricketer of the Year in Men’s T20I field for the year 2021.
Announcing its decision, the ICC in a tweet on Sunday listed its qualifications for naming Mohamamd Rizwan as its Cricketer of the Year which were sheer consistency, indomitable spirit and some breath-taking knocks.
The ICC also declared that the year 2021 was a memorable one for the Pakistani star.
Rizwan defeated Jos Buttler, Wanindu Hasaranga and Mitchell Marsh to win the ICC’s prestigious award.
In a tweet, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) also congratulated Mohammad Rizwan on winning the ICC award.
Earlier, Pakistan’s Shaheen Shah Afridi and Mohammad Rizwan were nominated for Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. The ICC had announced that the 2021 edition of the ICC Awards, celebrating and rewarding the top performances across men’s and women’s international cricket throughout the year will be unveiled on all of ICC’s channels and platforms this week.
The individual awards for excellence in women’s and men’s international cricket will be revealed on the ICC channels on January 23 and 24.
This year’s awards will comprise a total of 13 individual awards.
Players that have had the most impactful performances in the period under consideration — January 1 to December 31 were nominated for these awards.The ICC Voting Academy, comprising a wider selection of global cricket journalists and broadcasters, had voted for their first, second and third choices, while an overwhelming 1.2 million global cricket fans also submitted their votes to choose their favourite cricketers of the year.
The result of the ICC Voting Academy selections and the fans’ vote will be combined to determine the winner in each of these categories.
The Emerging and Associate categories listed above did not feature shortlists and were determined solely by the ICC Voting Academy.
List of awards and nominees: Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Shaheen Afridi, Joe Root, Mohammad Rizwan, Kane Williamson.
Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Tammy Beaumont, Lizelle Lee, Smriti Mandhana, Gaby Lewis.
ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Joe Root, Kyle Jamieson, Dimuth Karunaratne, Ravichandran Ashwin.
ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Shakib Al Hasan, Babar Azam, Janneman Malan, Paul Stirling.
ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Tammy Beaumont, Lizelle Lee, Hayley Matthews, Fatima Sana.
ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Jos Buttler, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mitchell Marsh, Mohammad Rizwan.
ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Tammy Beaumont, Gaby Lewis, Smriti Mandhana, Nat Sciver.

About the author

The Frontier Post