MQM Arshad Hasan gets elected as new Karachi deputy mayor

F.P. Report

KARACHI: The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) candidate Arshad Hasan won the election for deputy mayor of Karachi with 194 votes on Thursday.

MQM-P candidate Arshad Hassan who was elected as the chairperson from UC-24 in District East and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Karamullah Waqasi who served as the chairperson from UC-31 fought for the seat of deputy mayor of Karachi.

PPP candidate Karamullah Waqasi lost the seat garnering only 78 votes. Seven votes were discarded in the election.

Deputy Comissioner Syed Salahuddin supervised the election at Karachi Metropolitan Corporation (KMC) Council Hall which was used as a polling station for the election.

Without any break, polling stayed open from 9am to 5pm.

A holiday was announced for the President office of KMC on the event of election whereas mayor, deputy mayor, secretariat KMC, council secretariat and media management department worked in the routine.

MQM filed an application in the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to disqualify former deputy mayor Arshad Vohra from the seat after switching to Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) from MQM after contesting elections on their ticket.

Posted in