Farooq Sattar

Musharraf, Sattar barred Imran, Bilawal, Shehbaz cleared for Karachi contest

Naimat Khan

KARACHI: Nomination papers of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chief, Imran, Chairman Pakistan Peoples Party Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and President Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz, Mian Shehbaz Sharif, were accepted whereas those of former military dictator General (R) Pervez Musharraf and Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan leader Farooq Sattar were rejected as the scrutiny process completed here on Tuesday.

Chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Imran Khan had submitted nomination papers for contest on NA-243, a seat that falls in Gulshan-e-Iqbal and Gulistan-e-Jauhar localities of the city.  Election Commission of Pakistan cleared Imran Khan for contesting general elections on this seat.

Chairman Pakistan Peoples Party, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, who had submitted nomination form from NA-246- Lyari, a stronghold of the PPP besides submitting papers for contest on NA-200 Larkana and NA-8-Makanad were cleared on NA-246 seat. He was also cleared on other seats by the relevant returning officers.

Nomination papers of President Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz Shehbaz Sharif were submitted from NA-249 and NA-250. His nominations papers on both seats were accepted, however, Anamullah Mehsud, Chairman of Union Committee Baldia, which falls in NA-249, says Shehbaz Sharif will contest from NA-249 where they sure PML-N would win the seat.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday rejected nomination papers of Muttahida Qaumi Movement–Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Farooq Sattar from the NA-245 constituency.

Returning Officer (RO) Ahsan Khan said Sattar’s candidature for NA-245 had been rejected because he is an absconder in two cases and did not mention this in his nomination papers.

The MQM-P leader has decided to file an appeal against his papers being rejected in the Sindh High Court.

Sattar has submitted nomination papers from three constituencies in Karachi — NA-241, 245 and 247 — to contest the general election scheduled to be held on July 25.

Nomination papers for former president General (retd) Pervez Musharraf were also rejected for NA-1 Chitral.

APML leader Dr Amjad said Musharraf would not take part in the elections but the party would not be boycotting.

Last week, the Supreme Court withdrew its conditional approval for Musharraf to file nomination papers after he failed to appear before the court.

Former Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) Sindh Ameer, Asadullah Bhutto had his nomination papers rejected for NA-242 Karachi.

His papers were rejected on the basis of his name being on the defaulters’ list.

Asadullah Bhutto denied being a defaulter, stating this was an error by the bank. He announced approaching the court against his nomination papers being rejected.

The ECP concluded the scrutiny of nomination papers filed by candidates for the general election on Tuesday.

A total of 21,482 nomination papers had been filed across the country for national and provincial assemblies, according to the electoral body.

At least 6,063 candidates will contest for the 342 seats of the National Assembly, while 15,419 hopefuls have filed nomination papers for the seats of the provincial assemblies.

The election schedule states that appeals against rejection or acceptance of nomination papers can be filed by June 22. The decision on the appeals will be made by June 27, after which the final list of the candidates will be shared on June 28.


Posted in