Papers for by-elections to be submitted from today

Papers for by-elections to be submitted from today

F.P. Report

RAWALPINDI: The nomination papers for the upcoming bye-elections to be held here like other parts of the country on Oct 14, will be received by the Returning Officers (ROs) during Aug 28 to Aug 30.

According to Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the bye-elections will be held on the National and Provincial Assembly seats which became vacant due to death of contesting/returned candidates, resignation and postponement of the elections.

The bye-elections will be held in Rawalpindi division on four National Assembly seats including, NA-56 Attock-II, NA-60 Rawalpindi-IV, NA-63 Rawalpindi-VII and NA-65 Chakwal-II while the elections will also be for two Punjab Provincial Assembly seats PP-3, Attock-III and PP-27 Jhelum-III.

Publication of the names of the nominated candidates will be on Aug 31. Last date for scrutiny of the nomination papers by the Returning officers will be September 4 and last date for filing of appeals against decisions of the Returning Officer rejecting / accepting the nomination papers will be September 8. Similarly, the last date for deciding of appeals by the Appellate Tribunal will be September 13.

The publication of revised list of the candidates will be on September 14 while September 15 will be last date for withdrawal of candidature and publication of revised list of candidates.

The election symbols will be allotted to the contesting candidates on September 16 and October 14 will be the polling day for the elections.

District Election Commissioner-I, Rawalpindi Muhammad Saleem Akhter Khan has been appointed as Returning Officer by the Election Commission for the Bye-election to the National Assembly for NA-60, Rawalpindi-IV, Constituency.

The nomination papers will be received by the Returning Officer NA-60 Rawalpindi-IV between 8 am to 4 pm from August 28 to 30.


Posted in