PDM nominates PPP’s Gilani as chairman Senate

F.P. Report

ISLAMABAD: The opposition alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) has nominated former prime minister and senior leader Yousuf Raza Gilani as a joint candidate for chairman Senate polls due on March 12.

The PPP Chairperson addressing the PDM important meeting said, “We were challenged to prove our numerical superiority in the Senate, in which we won.”

“Think, where we would stand if we had boycotted the by-elections and Senate elections, ‘‘Bilawal Bhutto asked the various parties’ leadership.

He congratulated PDM for Yousaf Raza Gillani victory achievement in Senate polls. Bilawal vowed, “We want the Chairman Senate to win the election and claim another victory,” Bilawal added.

Former President Asif Ali Zardari congratulated Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani on his victory.

Yousuf Raza Gilani, Maryam Nawaz Sharif, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Nayyar Bukhari, Farhatullah Babar, Sherry Rehman and Qamar Zaman Kaira, Raza Rabbani, Faisal Karim Kundi, Mahmood Khan Achakzai, Dr Abdul Malik, Haider Hoti, Aftab Sherpao, Prof. Sajid Mir, Senator Jamaluddin, Owais Noorani and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi were present in the meeting.