Top Stories

PM Imran Khan’s cabinet takes oath

Written by The Frontier Post

F.P. Report

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan’s federal cabinet took oath on Monday in President House, President Mamnoon Hussain administered oath to the federal cabinet on Monday.

Premier Imran Khan was also present in the oath taking ceremony.

According to details, the federal cabinet comprises 20 members of which 15 are ministers while five others will serve duties as advisers to the prime minister.

The premier will chair the first meeting of the cabinet today after a notification with regard to its composition issued.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi, who had served as foreign minister in the PPP government from 2008 to 2011, has been entrusted with the same portfolio once again.

Former chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province Pervaiz Khattak has been given the charge of defence in the Imran Khan-led government at the Centre. Asad Umer has been given the most challenging portfolio of finance.

Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid has been given the portfolio of the railway minister. He previously held the same portfolio under the Musharraf regime.

The Ministry of Human Rights went to Shireen Mazari while Fawad Chaudhry has been entrusted with the information ministry.

Other members of the cabinet included Farogh Naseem (Law and Justice), Tariq Bashir Cheema (Safron), Ghulam Sarwar Khan (Petroleum), Zubaida Jalal (Defence Production), Aamir Mehmood Kiyani (Health), Fehmida Mirza (Inter Provincial Coordination), Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui (IT), Shafqat Mahmood (Education) and Noor ul Haq Qadri (Religious Affairs).


About the author

The Frontier Post

Leave a Reply