Polling starts in NA-120 bye-election

F.P. Report

LAHORE: The polling has begun in the much awaited by-election of NA-120 Lahore on Sunday.

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) officials told media that a total 44 candidates were contesting in the by-election for the NA-120 seat of Lahore in which 32 were independent and 12 were from different political parties.

Begum Kulsoom Nawaz is Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate, Dr.Yasmin Rashid of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaaf (PTI), Faisal Mir from Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Ziauddin Ansari of Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) and Milli Muslim League (MML) Muhammad Yaqoob Sheikh.

The ECP official added that total 321,786 voters were registered voters in the constituency including 179,642 male and 142,144 female for which 220 polling stations were established including 103 for male, 98 for female and 19 combined.

The by-polling in NA-120 were expected to be more interesting and enthusiastic in terms of high turnout in the constituency as in the campaign different parties were blaming each other and claiming victory in the election which will prove the result of today’s by-election.

The NA-120 seat was vacant after the disqualification of former Nawaz Sharif by Supreme Court in the panama case on 28 July.