Top Stories

PPPP Gillani wins nail biting Senate Election

Written by The Frontier Post

F.P. Report
ISLAMABAD: On March 3rd, after a hotly contested election between PTI Minister for Finance Abdul Hafeez Sheikh and Ex- Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gillani from PPPP against the General Seat in Senate from Federal Capital, Ex Prime Minister Gillani managed to win the nail biting election.

Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani got 169 votes, whereas Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)’s candidate Abdul Hafeez Sheikh secured 164 votes, the candidate of PPPP won seat in Senate from Federal Capital and PTI candidate Fozia Arshad was declared victorious on woman seat.

Special Secretary of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Zafar Iqbal Hussain served as a Returning Officer and announced the result.
On the completion of counting, the Returning Officer prepared and certified a Return of Election in Form-56 and candidates and his/her agent were allowed to take a copy or extract from such return.
A total of 7 votes were rejected on general seat.

Likewise, Farzana Kausar from PML-N and Fozia Arshad from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)’s contested on woman seat from Federal Capital.
PTI Candidate Fozia Arshad bagged 174 votes while PML-N Candidate Farzana Kausar got 161 votes. A total of 5 votes were rejected on women seat.

Today the polling begun at 9 am and continued till 5 pm, during these contesting candidates, their agents remained present in the polling station along with the election staff.


In Sindh Assembly 167 vote were cast out of 168 for the Senate Election.
PPP candidate Palwasha Khan and MQM-Pakistan Khalida Atib won the seat of women.

While Pakistan Peoples Party Shery Rehman, Taj Haider, Jam Mahtab Dahr and Saleem Mandwiwala also won the general seat. MQM-Pakistan candidate Faisal Sabzwari also won the seat of general.

Pakistan Peoples Party Farooq H Naik secured the seat of technocrat while PTI Saif Ullah Abro and Faisal Vawda also won their seats.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

According to the unofficial result PTI’s candidates, who were elected senators on general seats included Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Syed Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Liaquat Khan Tarkai, Faisal Saleem and Zeeshan Khanzada, while opposition clinched two seats of Hidayatullah Khan (ANP) and Maulana Atta ur Rehma JUIF.

On two seats of technocrat, PTI’s Dost Muhammad Khan and Muhammad Hamayun Mohmand were elected as senators by securing 59 and 49 votes respectively.

The lone seat for Non-Muslim was also clinched by PTI’s Gurdeep Singh who got 103 votes.

Similarly, PTI’s Sania Nishtar and Falak Naz remained successful candidate by getting 56 and 51 votes respectively on two women reserved seats.


According to un-official results, in Balochistan, Manzoor Ahmed Kakar, Sarfraz Bugti and Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai of Balochistan Awami Party, Muhammad Qasim of Balochistan National Party, Moulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (F) Umer Farooq of Awami National Party, Muhammad Abdul Qadir Independent on General Seats have been declared winner.

Likewise, Saeed Ahmed Hashmi of Balochistan Awami Party and Kamran Murtaza of JUI (F) have won on Technocrats/Ulema seats.

Samina Mumtaz of Balochistan Awami Party and an independent candidate Nasima Ahsan won on women seats.

Similarly, on one Mino-rity seat Danesh Kumar of Balochistan Awami Party remained successful.


In Punjab, where candidates for all eleven seats have already been elected unopposed.

Pakistan Tahreek e Insaf has secured 6 seats while PML (N) five seats from Punjab unopposed which include general, technocrats and women seats.

The candidates who have been declared elected unopposed on General seats in Punjab include PTI’s Saifullah Sarwar Khan Niazi, Aun Abbas, Ejaz Ahmad Chaudhry and Kamil Ali Agha while PML-N’s Afnan-Ullah Khan, Sajid Mir and Irfan Siddiqui.

About the author

The Frontier Post

Leave a Reply