Presidential election today

Polling continues to elect Pakistan’s 13th president

F.P. Report

ISLAMABAD: Polling start at the Parliament and four provincial assemblies to elect the 13th president of Pakistan on Tuesday.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) has fielded Arif Alvi, while Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has named Aitzaz Ahsan as its presidential candidate.

Similarly, the opposition except PPP, has nominated JUI-F chief, Maulana Fazl ur Rehman.

Polling for the election commenced at 10am and will continue until 4pm.

Earlier, PPP presidential candidate Aitzaz Ahsan and PTI’s Arif Alvi have arrived at the Parliament House to cast their votes.

Chief Justice of the Islamabad High Court is presiding over the election in the Parliament and lawmakers have started casting their votes.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, polling for the presidential election began under the supervision of presiding officer Peshawar High Court Chief Justice Waqar Ahmad Seth. Meanwhile, in the Balochistan Assembly polling is under way under the supervision of BHC CJ Tahira Safdar.

It is a must for lawmakers to bring their assembly cards, in order to cast their vote.

Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Raza is the returning officer for the presidential election.

After the completion of the polling process, presiding officers will announce details of total votes polled, while a final result of the election will be announced by the returning officer.

The 13th President of Pakistan will be chosen by an electoral college of 706 votes of lawmakers, including 104 senators, 342 members of the national and 260 of the provincial assembly.

In order to ensure equal representation, all provincial assemblies are given 65 votes each in the electoral college.

Each member of the National Assembly gets one vote as do Senators. 5.70 Punjab parliamentarians makeup 1 vote, 2.58 in Sindh, 1.90 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, while MPAs in Balochistan, the smallest assembly, get one vote each.

Arif Alvi is likely to poll a total of 337.91 votes (excluding the undecided independents in each house). Rehman is expected to receive 199.1, while Ahsan could be picking up 115.44 votes.


Posted in