Elections 2018 MMA to support Shehbaz Sharif in NA-3

PTI emerges largest party of Karachi, defeats Bilawal, Shehbaz

F.P. Report

KARACHI: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), which got majority of seats in Center and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province also emerged as the largest party of Karachi, where its candidates defeated Pakistan Muslim League President Shahbaz Sharif and Pakistan Peoples Party’s Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari in election held on Wednesday.

Party of Bilawal, which had been ruling over the Lyari neighborhood for the last forty long years, faced worst ever defeat when its chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari couldn’t make it to runner-up in the contest in a seat having won by his grandfather Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, grandmother Nusrat Bhutto, mother Benazir Bhutto and father Asif Ali Zardari multiple times.

Although analysts had been predicting tough contest on NA-246, it was unexpected that a little known Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Abdul Shakoor Shad would defeat the PPP Chairman with huge margin. Shad got more than 52000 votes from the PPP’s political fortress where Benazir Bhutto had held valima reception in late 80s. On NA-246, the Tehreek-e-Laibaik Pakistan’s candidate also superseded Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, who had earlier faced unwelcoming situation in the neighborhood.

If it was not enough the Pakistan Peoples Party’s candidate also lost their provincial assembly seats PS-107 and PS-108 to PLT and MMA’s candidates, respectively.

Imran Khan, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman, who was contesting from Gulshan-e-Iqbal’s NA-243, defeated the Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s Syed Ali Raza Abidi with huge margin. The PTI Chairman bagged 91,358 votes whereas his runner-up, Ali Raza Abidi, could get 24082 votes from the constituency which the MQM had always been winning.

Other prominent figures who won their constituencies, including Dr Arif Ali Zardari who declared returned candidate on NA-247-Defence-Clifton-Saddar, Ali Zaidi who defeated his opponent from NA-244 and Dr Aamir Liaquat Hussain, who won NA-245 by defeated Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s senior leader Dr Farooq Sattar.

Among other PTI winner was Faisal Vawda who defeated President PMLN Shehbaz Sharif on NA-249 with a small margin. Sharif was declared favorite for the seat.

According to the initial results announced by Election Commission of Pakistan the PTI has emerged as the largest party by winning 11 of sixteen seats where PPP has won 2 and MQM 3 seats whereas the results from other five out 21 seats was awaiting till filing of this report.

The PTI has also won majority of the provincial assembly seats.

All political parties, including Pakistan People’s Party, the Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, Muttahida Qaumi Movement and Pak Sarzameen Party besides other small groups have expressed serious reservations over the delayed results and non-issuance of form-45.

The MQM-P Chief Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui said that the election in Karachi were rigged in which the mandate of MQM was stolen and given to PTI. The PSP leader Dr Sagheer said that PSP hasn’t received the results despite the passage of one day. “How can we accept these results,” he said.

“It’s now past midnight and I haven’t received official results from any constituency I am contesting myself. My candidates complaining polling agents have been thrown out of polling stations across the country. Inexcusable & outrageous”, tweeted whereas his party’s stalwarts Mian Raza Rabbani and Sherry Rehman told news conference that the process has raised serious question marks over the credibility of the election process.

The Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal’s President, Maulana Fazlur Rehman, issued a statement said the elections results were unacceptable and his party will hold All Parties Conference today (Friday).

Posted in