PTI makes history by securing 10 Senate seats from KP

PESHAWAR (APP): Pakistan Tahrik e Insaf has made history in Senate polls by securing 10 seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly in the elections held here on Wednesday.

According to unofficial result PTI’s candidates, who were elected senators on generate seats included Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting Syed Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Liaquat Khan Tarkai Faisal Saleem and Zeeshan Khanzada, while opposition clinched two seats of Hidayatullah Khan (ANP) and Maulana Atta ur Rehma JUIF.

On two seats of technocrat, PTI’s Dost Muhammad Khan and Muhammad Hamayun Mohmand were elected as senators by securing 59 and 49 votes respectively. The lone seat for Non-Muslim was also clinched by PTI’s Gurdeep Singh who got 103 votes.

Similarly, PTI’s Sania Nishtar and Falak Naz remained successful candidate by getting 56 and 51 votes respectively on two women reserved seats.

Polling started at 9 a.m and continued till 5 p.m. without break. Chief Minister KP Mahmood Khan, Opposition Leader Akram Khan Durrani, Provincial Ministers, advisors and special assistants to CM KP also cast their votes.

Peshawar Police had deployed about 274 policemen for ensuring holding of senate election in a free, secure and peaceful atmosphere.