PTI’s Shaukat Yousafzai wins re-election on PK-23 Shangla seat

F.P. Report

SHANGLA: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Shaukat Yousafzai Monday won the re-election in PK-23 (Shangla-I) constituency of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

According to unofficial results, Yousafzai bagged 39,234 votes against PML-N’s Rashad Khan, who managed to get 16,500 votes.

The July 25 election in the constituency was declared null and void by the Election Commission of Pakistan over low women turnout.

Yousafzai had won the seat by securing 17,399 votes while Mohammad Rashad remained the runner-up with 15,533 votes.

A total of 135 polling stations, including 21 for women, were set up established across the constituency, having 200,555 registered voters which comprises of 86,728 women. ECP had declared 18 polling stations most sensitive, 35 sensitive and 82 normal.

Strict security measures were adopted to ensure free and fair election in a peaceful atmosphere. Pakistan Army men were deployed in and outside the polling stations with first class magistrate powers granted to them.

Posted in