Sana Mir equals ODI record for most wickets by a spinner

POTCHEFSTROOM (Monitoring Desk): Pakistan off-spinner Sana Mir took the 146th wicket of her ODI career to join Anisa Mohammed and Lisa Sthalekar on the top of the most-wickets list for spinners in women’s ODI cricket.

Sana Mir equalled the record against South Africa as the Proteas beat Pakistan by eight wickets in the second ICC Women’s Championship match at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom on Thursday.

Mir took Andrie Steyn’s wicket in the 23rd over the match, the 117th match of her career as South Africa chased down the 148-run target in 36.4 overs for the loss of two wickets.

Opener Laura Wolvaardt led her side’s chase, remaining unbeaten on 74 off 114 balls with the help of nine fours.

Wolvaardt added 76 for the first wicket with Lizelle Lee who made 40 runs off 43 balls with the help of six fours. After Steyn’s dismissal at the total of 97, Wolvaardt added 51 runs for the unbroken third wicket partnership with captain Sune Luus who scored 21 off 41 balls.

Umaima Sohail also chipped in with one wicket for 24 runs.

Earlier, Pakistan who were put into bat first were dismissed for 147 runs in 42 overs after a 50-run opening partnership between Nahida Khan (37) and Sidra Amin (25).

Khan’s 34-ball innings included six fours. Amin and Javeria Khan (20) took the total to 84, however, both fell at the same total, while Nida Dar (two) fell in the 25th over with the score at 99.

Captain Bismah Maroof (32 off 49 balls, four fours) and Aliya Riaz (17 off 46 balls, two fours) took the score to 141, adding 42 runs for the fifth wicket.

Player of the match Masabata Klaas then took a hat-trick dismissing Aliya, Sohail (five) and Sidra Nawaz (nought) off three successive deliveries of the 39th over to peg Pakistan back.

The last five wickets fell for the addition of six runs as Pakistan collapsed from 141 for five to 147 all out. Klaas (3 for 27) was the most successful South Africa bowler. Tumi Sekhukhune and Sune Luus took two wickets each.

The third and final match will be played in Benoni on 12 May.