FILE - In this Thursday, March 22, 2018 file photo, Zimbabwe players celebrate the wicket of UAE batsman Ashfaq Ahmed during their cricket world cup qualifier match at Harare Sports Club. Zimbabwe has been suspended from international cricket because of government interference. The International Cricket Council says on Thursday, July 18, 2019 it is also freezing all funding to the southern African country, which is a test-playing nation and full member of the ICC. (AP Photo/Tsvangirayi Mukwazhi, file)

Zimbabwe announce 25-member squad

LAHORE (Monitoring Desk): Zimbabwe have named a 25-member training squad for their proposed limited-overs tour to Pakistan in October.

The visitor’s squad is boosted by the presence of senior players like Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Craig Ervine and Sean Williams. All-rounder Chamu Chibhabha, who was named Zimbabwe’s limited-overs captain on an interim basis earlier this year, will lead the side on the tour.

According to the current schedule, the Zimbabwe side is scheduled to arrive in Pakistan on October 20. The three-match one-day International (ODI) series, which is part of the inaugural ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, is expected to be played between October 30 and November 3 in Multan. Whereas, the Twenty20 International (T20I) matches are scheduled for November 7, 8 and 10 in Rawalpindi.

Preparations are underway by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to create a bio-secure environment. The matches are likely to be played behind closed doors.

Zimbabwe training squad for Pakistan tour:

Faraz Akram, Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wesley Madhevere, Timycen Maruma, Wellington Masakadza, Brandon Mavuta, Peter Moor, Carl Mumba, Richmond Mutumbami, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Sean Williams.

Posted in