PSL 8: Lahore, Rawalpindi matches to go ahead as scheduled

LAHORE (Monitoring Desk): The Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight matches will be held in Lahore and Rawalpindi as per schedule, as the deadlock between the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and the interim Punjab government has finally ended.
Minister of Health from the interim government, Dr. Javed Akram, had confirmed to Express News on Saturday that the PSL matches will not be shifted from Lahore and Rawalpindi to Karachi.
The PCB chairman on Sunday, shared the news on his Twitter account that matches will be held as per schedule.
”CM Punjab Mohsin Naqvi Saheb has been kind enough to agree to share cost of lighting routes during PSL matches in Lahore. HBl PSL8 matches in Lahore and Pindi shall continue as scheduled,” tweeted Sethi.
It must be noted that the interim Punjab government had initially demanded PKR500 million from PCB to conduct the matches in Lahore and Rawalpindi. The board has already paid PKR50 million to Punjab government for expenses on food.
The provincial government were then demanding the remaining PKR450 million for lighting and security purposes. In order to save these expenses, the board was considering shifting the Punjab-leg of PSL 8 to Karachi.
The interim Government of Punjab on Saturday evening decided to be flexible on lights, security and other expenses. They decided to borne fifty percent of the bill payment, which is PKR 250 million. While they asked PCB to borne the remaining PKR 250 million.
However, PCB was still not ready to pay any amount for security, lights, and other expenses handed over by the government.
During the meeting between the aforementioned parties on Friday as well, PCB had flatly refused to pay the bills of PKR450 million.
However, the issue seems to have settled, as Najam Sethi reached out to Prime Minister, Shehbaz Sharif on Sunday, who assured him full support in holding matches in Punjab.
Matches in Lahore are scheduled to start from February 26, while Rawalpindi will host the PSL matches from March 1.