5th Media Cricket League: Qabail, Panthers, Spider win matches

Ali Sheikh

PESHAWAR: Three matches were played on the 2nd day of ongoing 5th edition of Peshawar Press Club Media Cricket League here at Qayyum Sports Complex on Sunday.

In the first match of the day PPC Panthers beat PPC United by nine wickets. Batting first PPC United scored 45 runs for the loss of seven wickets in allotted 8 overs. Ashfaq scored 11 runs while Hashim Khan was the only other player to enter the double figures as he scored 10 runs.

Zahid and Tanveer took two wickets each while Zakir and Sabir grabbed one wicket. In reply PPC Panthers achieved the target after losing only one wicket thus winning the match by 9 wickets. Israr scored 22 while Zakir scored 13 runs for Panthers.

In the second match of the day tournament favourites PPC Qabail led by Bilal Afridi outplayed PPC Azmari by 10 wickets in a one-sided affair.

Batting first after winning the toss, Azmari could score only 48 runs in the allotted 8 overs for the loss of seven wickets. Shahid Afridi and Qari Zia took two wickets each while Shah Faisal, Kamran and Farid Shinwari took one wicket each. Saleem Raza showed some resistance against a disciplined bowling attack by staying at the wicket for almost 5 overs scoring 14 runs while Sahibzada scored 13 runs. In response, Qabail won the match in the 5th over without losing a wicket. Opener Zeeshan scored unbeaten quick fire 30 runs while the other opener Shah Nawaz remained not out with 10 runs.

In the last match of the day, PPC Spider showed the best performance of the tournament so far scoring a massive 145 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 8 overs against PPC Shaheen who could manage to score only 54 runs in response. Thus PPC Spider won the match by 91 runs. Batting first, Spider scored 145 for in which Naeem Babar scored 39 runs while Waqar scored 28 runs. Adnan (24) and Wahid Khan (19) were other notable batters while Muawiya, Hussain, Wisal and Ehtesham got one wicket. In response, Shaheen’s team scored 54 runs in which Hassan scored 27 runs.

Awami National Party Japan President Naeem Khan distributed medals to the best performing players.