AJK PM Sardar Abdul Qayyum Niazi decides to resign

F.P. Report

MUZAFFARABAD: Azad Jammu and Kashmir Prime Minister Sardar Abdul Qayyum Niazi Thursday decide to resign amid a revolt against him within the party that saw the submission of a no-confidence motion against him by his own party.

Sources said the AJK PM has sent his resignation to the party chairman, Imran Khan.

AJK Assembly Speaker Chaudhry Anwar-ul-Haq had called the session for voting on the no-confidence motion on April 15 at 10 am.

The motion, submitted on Tuesday by Tanveer Ilyas group of the ruling PTI, bore the signatures of 25 members of the AJK Legislative Assembly. Senior Minister Sardar Tanveer Ilyas had been nominated as a candidate for the seat of prime minister.

Prime Minister Niazi had met Imran Khan yesterday and briefed him about the conspiracy hatched against him.

In his message to Khan, Niazi said he was returning the post to him that he was entrusted by Imran Khan.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Niazi removed five of his ministers including Senior Minister Sardar Tanveer Ilyas, Abdul Majid Khan, Ali Shan Soni, Khawaja Farooq and Akbar Ibrahim.

A spokesman for the AJK prime minister said that the ministers were shown the door for misconduct, corruption and suspicious activities.

Sardar Abdul Qayyum Niazi was sworn in as the 13th prime minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir in August 2021.