Govt, opposition reach consensus on standing committees of Sindh

F.P. Report

KARACHI: The Pakistan People’s Party led provincial government and the opposition on Friday reached a consensus on the constitution of Sindh Assembly’s standing committees.

PPP agreed to a proposal put forward by the opposition parties’ alliance in the provincial legislature according to which the chairmanship of at least eight committees will be given to members of the opposition benches.

The chairmanship of the committees reviewing performance of important ministries and departments, including education, transport, live stock, and forests will be assigned to opposition members.

It is pertinent to mention here that the Sindh Assembly comprises of 34 standing committees. Each standing committee has 11 elected members under Section 160 of the Sindh Assembly Rules. Their responsibilities include the periodical review of the performance of departments assigned to them and attending to complaints.

These committees are also supposed to review and examine the bills and legislative papers.