PPP’s Raja Pervaiz Ashraf takes oath as NA Speaker

F.P. Report

LAHORE: PPP’s Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on Saturday was elected unopposed as the 22nd speaker of the National Assembly, with PTI leader Qasim Suri resigning from the office of the deputy speaker.

His election came after National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser resigned from his position after joint opposition submitted a no-confidence motion against former prime minister Imran Khan.