PSL 8: Sultans defeat Kings by three runs in a thriller

F.P. Report

MULTAN: Skipper Mohammad Rizwan spearheaded Multan Sultans, scoring unconquered 64-ball 110 to power his team to 3-run victory against Karachi Kings in the 11th match of the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Multan Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

After the Sultans sent into bat, both Rizwan and Shan Masood went after the Kings’ bowlers, giving no margin whatsoever. In the first powerplay, the Sultans plundered 50. The partnership between Masood and Rizwan had flown along to 85 in 62 deliveries, until Shan Masood was undone by veteran Shoaib Malik.

Shan Masood looked brilliant for his 33-ball 51, hitting to the fence six times and smacking a sixer.

The next partnership Rizwan made with Rilee Rossouw was even bigger. Both Rizwan and Rossouw stitched a partnership of 109 off 56 deliveries. Surprisingly, in this first phase, Rizwan contributed 77 and Rilee Rossouw, known for power hitting, only scored 29 off 21.

Rilee Rossouw smashed four boundaries, until he was removed by Mohammad Umar.

After Rossouw departed, Kieron Pollard joined Mohammad Rizwan and remained unbeaten with the skipper, scoring 2-ball 2.

The Kings’ bowlers were not able to apply the coup de grace.

Only Shoaib Malik, bowled brillianty, giving away 29 runs and bagging a wicket. Mohammad Umar, was the other bowl, who managed to take a scalp as well. But he was quiet expensive, conceding 44 in his four overs.

Skipper Imad Wasim (0-20), Aamer Yamin (0-36), Akif Javed (0-33), Imran Tahir (0-33) were wicketless.

Karachi Kings opted to field first against Multan Sultans in the 11th match of the eighth edition of the domestic premium tournament.

Karachi Kings: Matthew Wade (wk), James Vince, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Irfan Khan, Imad Wasim (c), Ben Cutting, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Umar, Imran Tahir, Akif Javed

Multan Sultans: Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c & wk), Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Carlos Brathwaite, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Illyas, Ihsanullah