Spinners dominate in nine-wicket win over Malaysia

SYLHET (Monitoring Desk): Pakistan open their account in the ACC Women’s T20 Asia Cup by beating Malaysia by nine wickets with 11 overs to spare at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium (SICS) on Sunday morning.
Chasing a modest 58-run target, Pakistan opening batters provided a 45-run start to the run-chase. They collected 45 runs in the batting powerplay, before right-handed batter Sidra Amin fell on the last ball of the powerplay to Mahirah Izzati Ismail for 31. Sidra struck five fours during her 23-ball innings.
Her opening partner wicketkeeper-batter Muneeba Ali returned undefeated on 21 off 23 balls, smashing three fours with captain Bismah Maroof (eight not out, eight balls, one four).
Earlier, after opting to bowl first in an overcast condition, Pakistan bowlers made full use of the conditions as Diana Baig struck on the second ball of the innings – getting Malaysia’s captain Winifred Duraisingam out caught behind for no score. But it was the spinners that dominated the bowling side, Omaima Sohail (3-0-19-3), Sadia Iqbal (4-0-8-1) and Tuba Hasan (4-0-13-2) shared six wickets between. Malaysia’s Elsa Hunter unbeaten 29 off 51, which included three fours helped her side not to get bowled out and scored 57 for nine in 20 overs.
Pakistan will take on defending champions Bangladesh tomorrow. The match will be broadcast live on PTV Sports, the first ball be bowled at 0800 PKT.
Scores in brief:
Pakistan beat Malaysia by nine wickets
Malaysia 57-9, 20 overs (Elsa Huner 29 not out; Omaima Sohail 3-19, Tuba Hasan 2-13, Diana Baig 1-6, Sadia Iqbal 1-8)
Pakistan 61-1, nine overs (Sidra Amin 31, Muneeba Ali 21 not out; Mahirah Izzati Ismail 1-8)
Player of the match: Tuba Hasan (Pakistan).