Council gives suggestion for delimitation of constituencies

F.P. Report

TIMERGARA: The Lower Dir district council on Thursday presented suggestions to the election commission of Pakistan for changes in the proposed delimitation of constituencies.

The council session continued for second consecutive day here with its convener Abdul Rasheed in the chair. District nazim Muhammad Rasool Khan and all male and female councilors attended the session. Maulana Muhammad Imran of the JI presented a resolution for changes in the proposed delimitation. The council passed the resolution unanimously.

The councilors Maulana Imran and others suggested that PK-13 should be comprised of tehsil Khall, Rabat, Koto, Nalambat and one union council of Khazana Jandol. He said the whole tehsil of Adenzai except the Kotigram union council be made PK-14.

Similarly the whole tehsil of Timergara and union council Kotigram of Adenzai be made PK-15. The PK-16 should comprise of tehsil Samar Bagh, union councils of Mian Kalay, Munda and Gosum. Similarly tehsil Lal Qila, UC Lajbok, UC Munjai and UC Haya Serai should be included in PK-17.

Earlier the Lower Dir consisted of one national and four provincial assembly seats but under the proposed delimitation it would have two NA and five PA seats. Majority of political parties and local residents in Adenzai, Talash, Balambat and Samar Bagh were not happy with the proposed delimitation of constituencies. Local residents had been protesting the proposal. The district council also rejected the proposed delimitation and demanded of the ECP to consider its recommendations in reviewing the constituencies in the district.